Land and Water Boards of the Mackenzie Valley

Box 2130 X1A 3Y6, Yellowknife NT P: 867.669.0506 W: www.mvlwb.com

July 8, 2022

The Honourable Daniel Vandal, P.C., M.P. Minister of Northern Affairs Terrasses de la Chaudière 10 Wellington Street, North Tower Hull, Québec K1A 0H4

Sent via email

............

Dear Minister Vandal,

No. of Concession, Name

RE: Land Use Permit Extensions – Request for Amendment to Mackenzie Valley Land Use Regulations

The Land and Water Boards of the Mackenzie Valley, or the Boards (Gwich'in, Mackenzie Valley, Sahtu, and Wek'èezhìi Land and Water Boards), are writing to request that the *Mackenzie Valley Land Use Regulations* (MVLUR) be amended with respect to land use permit extensions to make them consistent with the federal *Territorial Land Use Regulations*.

The Boards' request stems from the recently abandoned judicial review that the NWT and Nunavut Chamber of Mines filed in May 2021 in response to the Boards' decision to limit extensions to land use permits to only once and for a maximum of two years. The judicial review, which concluded prior to having the opportunity for the court to clarify the interpretation question, put a significant financial burden on the Mackenzie Valley Land and Water Board, and as a consequence we would like to avoid the possibility of another such occurrence.

Sections 31(5) and (6) of the *Territorial Land Use Regulations*, which apply to permits for areas under the control, management and administration of the federal government in NWT and Nunavut, are explicit that a permit's duration may be extended only once. We recommend that similar clarity be brought to the MVLUR at your earliest convenience.

Should you wish to discuss this further with the Boards, please contact <u>Shelagh Montgomery</u> via email or at (867) 766-7457.

Sincerely,

Mavis Cli-Michaud Chair Mackenzie Valley Land and Water Board

Elizabeth Wright Chair Gwich'in Land and Water Board

Mason Mantla Chair Wek'èezhìi Land and Water Board

lamak Machtosh

Tanya T. MacIntosh Chair Sahtu Land and Water Board

- Bcc'd to: Daniel Quan-Watson, Deputy Minister, CIRNAC
 - Serge Beaudoin, Assistant Deputy Minister, CIRNAC
 - Joanna Ankersmit, Director General, Natural Resources and Environment Branch
 - Northern Affairs Organization, CIRNAC
 - Ken Kyikavichik, Grand Chief, Gwich'in Tribal Council
 - Orlena Modeste, Executive Director, Sahtu Secretariat Incorporated
 - Tammy Steinwand-Deschambeault, Director, Department of Culture, Language & Lands Protection, Tłįchǫ Government
 - Tom Hoefer, Executive Director, NWT and Nunavut Chamber of Mines

